Posted by: Cobrafire | December 31, 2008

The 14th Annual “…And You’re Not!” Awards, Part 1

And so as 2008 draws to a close, now would be the time where members of the Anime Blogosphere™ make posts about their favorites and whatnot. This blog is no exception. So without further ado, I present to you the 14th Annual(Give or take a year) “…And You’re Not!” Awards, which I give you my picks for the best (and worst) anime shows and moments. So to start, we have, in no particular order…

Best Example That Twilight Is A Blatant Ripoff Of Shojo Manga – Vampire Knight Seasons 1&2

100% Sparkle Free!

100% Sparkle Free!

I never even heard of Twilight until I read a article on it in Entertainment Weekly. Upon reading the plot my first thought was “This sounds like Vampire Knight.” And frankly it is. Except that no proper vampire fucking sparkles in daylight.  As for the show itself, It manages to translate the feel of the manga well, but not as well as Soul Eater.

Next, we have:

Can't think of anything witty to say for this. Deal.

Can't think of anything witty to say for this. Deal.

Best Chain Smoking and Hard Drinking Loli – To Aru Majutsu no Index

Now, I’m not a hardcore lolicon like some people I know. I may look at some stuff from time to time but that’s about it. That said my favorite character in  Index is the loli,chainsmoking, hard drinking schoolteacher.

51

Can I still be saved or should I start subscribing to Comic LO immediately?


Kira Yamato wishes he was this awesome...

Kira Yamato wishes he was this awesome...

Best Proof That The Giant Robot Genre Has Found It’s Fucking Testicles Again – Kurogane No Linebarrels

I think everyone can agree with me on this: Gurren Lagann made manly Giant Robots shows popular again, with Kurogane reaping the benefit. Yes, there is a ridiculous amount of fanservice and gags, but unlike other show(Godannar, Gravion) it not the major selling point. And while it does have several factors against it(Character designs by Hisashi Hirai, Animation by Gonzo…..) It manages to be an awesome show.

That, and it has a Black guy named Jack Smith that can fucking cut a robot in half. That shit was awesome.


Naussica Nakiami make Xam'd talk to the hand.

Nausi- um, Nakiami makes Xam'd talk to the hand.

Best Show For the Opening Alone – Xam’d: Lost Memories

Truth be told, there are like 2 other shows that would’ve gotten this award. but since I came up with awards for them and not Xam’d, this will have to do. But even without the opening, it’s a pretty decent show, even if you are supposed to have PS3 to watch it. (Thank you, oh Holy Internets, for preventing me from buying one. Amen) Hell, I like the song so much, I ended up getting the album it came from(“Exposed” by Boom Boom Satellites, in case you didn’t know. Think of the as a Japanese LCD Soundsystem, and you’ll get the picture)

You would think that Krauser played Halo on a regular basis with all the RAPEing goin' on....

You would think that Krauser played Halo on a regular basis with all the RAPEing goin' on....

Best Use of RAPE in an Anime: Non Hentai – Detroit Metal City

Disclaimer: Life, The Universe and Anime does not condone rape. Rape is a crime and is punishable by law. Like that? Got that offa one of my Kisaku DVD’s….

But anyway, don’t don’t do it!

With that outta the way, Detroit Metal City is one of the most twisted and fucked up anime shows I have seen this year. Yeah, it’s no Metalocaplyse, but what is, really? But unlike Dethklok who are Teh Metal all the time, Negeshi tries in vain to turn it off, with hilarious results.

Also, he raped Tokyo Tower. You can’t really top that.

11913l

Best Sassy, Crassy, and Assy Anime – Michiko and Hatchin

Wow, there are so many ways I can say how this show is awesome. I mean, the moment you see the OP, you know you in for something good. manglobe spared no expense with this, even going so far as to get locations shots for the scenes in the show. I mean some Anime studios would half-ass this (coughGonzocough, coughBeeTraincough), but nope.  And as for Michiko and Hatchin, they like the Gilmore Girls, if the mom was smoking Hawt and carried firearms.

I really Really hate to see what a Macross F Yaoi woul look like....

I really Really hate to see what a Macross F Yaoi woul look like....

Best Decultre in an Anime – Macross Frontier

When I first saw the trailer to this last October, I was stoked. When they showed the first episode just last year, I watched it about five or six times. but now that I saw the entire series and got the soundtrack, I can say that this is one  of the better shows of this year. Yes, even though the Sheryl/Ranka debate is still going strong(and unresolved love triangle in Macross? Oh Noes. That, or Kawamori-san didn’t wanna piss off any of the two camps)

I really hope you didn't get attached to any of these guys.....

I really hope you didn't get attached to any of these guys.....

Best Example That ANYTHING Can Be Made Into An Anti-Demon Weapon – Ga Rei Zero

Seriously, though, I’m not kidding. Just like Ranma 1/2 showed that anything and everything can be a Martial Art, Ga Rei Zero proved that anything and everything can be an Anti-demon weapon. Briefcases,  motorcycle tires, a boiler, hell, even a wheelchair.  chances are it was used in the show. And after you get past the shock of the first episode, you get a decent story about one girls descent into darkness……and implied Yuri, if you’re into that sorta thing.

And finally, we have….

You could call it LotGH Light, but that wouldn't do it any Justice.....

You could call it LotGH Light, but that wouldn't do it any Justice.....

Most Epic Serving Of Tea In Any Anime – Tytania

I could say that the reason I like this show was because it’s from the guy who did LotGH, but no. You could say that I like it because of the awesome characters that you either love of hate, but  you would be wrong again.

No, what sold me on Tytania was this scene:

You wish you could pour tear as awesomely as this guy....

You wish you could pour tear as awesomely as this guy....

My one main concern is that could this really be contained in a 26 episode series, or will it seemed rushed during the homestretch? but that’s months away, so we’ll save that for later.

And those were my favorites for ’08.  In part 2, I’ll give you my opinion on the worst show of this year. Expect overuse of the words “fuck”, “shit” “goddamn” and other colorful terms in describing them. Till then…

Responses

  1. Save for Komoe-sensei, I agree with what you’ve put down here. 😀

  2. Damn, I loved your awards!


Leave a Reply

Categories

