Posted by: Cobrafire | December 18, 2008

LotGH – My Thoughts So Far

Awesome Show is Awesome.

Awesome Show is Awesome.

Spoiler Warning: If you haven’t watched LotGH to this point or at all(Shame on you!), don’t read this post.

So, I’m At Episode 26(Shoulda been 25, damn cliffhangers) of Legend of the Galactic Heroes, and I have to say that I enjoy it so far(which is a good thing, especially since I got 84 episodes to go). In fact, I should be ashamed of myself that it took me this long to watch it in the first place, but there are a lot of shows that are critically acclaimed and Adored by fans everywhere that I still haven’t seen yet, so I’m not really that ashamed.

My opinions so far:

  1. There is way too much Man-crushing for my liking. Admiring your opponent is one thing, but damn, at times it feels like I’m watching Kizuna with spaceships.

  2. If I became an Admiral in the Navy(Heaven Forbid), I would take the Yang Wenli approach to commanding. Unfortunately, I really don’t like brandy with my tea.

  3. Reinhard promoting Kircheis was a mistake. Not that he’s not capable, but that Kircheis serves as Reinhard’s conscience at times and keeps him from doing really stupid stuff like act without thinking, something that I predict will happen a lot from now on.

  4. Ya know who Job Trunhilt reminds me of? A competent Dubya. What’s even scarier is that I saw way to many parallels between the Free Planets Alliance and the U.S. circa 2003, only without the armed militia hunting down the dissenters.

  5. Why do the characters I like end up dying!? Lap, Jessica, Ovlesser, and Kircheis. Goddammit, why did they have to kill Kircheis!? However, it will be interesting to see Reinhard’s actions now that his conscience is gone.

  6. Another thing I think is real cool is that both sides uses axes and swords despite all the PEW-PEW lasers and whatnot. Old School Violence FTW!

All in all, I’m actually enjoying the show, even though it lacks the epic tea making that’s in Tytania. Even though is as old as I am, its one of those shows that manages to withstand the test of time and I can’t wait to see how everything turns out(And if you guys spoil it for me, I will kill you and use you soul as a condom 🙂 )

Responses

  1. Your going to love the rest of the show 🙂

    The similarities between the FPA and the US in recent times is one of the things that struck me the greatest when I first watched it in 2005. Especially since the books the show is based off of were written back in the 70s. I wish people on both sides of our political spectrum could watch this show. Would give them great insight into the motivations and weaknesses of our democratic system.


Leave a Reply

Categories

