Posted by: Cobrafire | December 7, 2008

I’m Back, Or, I Got A Lot Of Catching Up To Do

Never piss a girl that can weield a chainsaw....

Life Lesson: Never piss off a girl that can wield a chainsaw....

So, yeah, It’s been a while. And for that I am sorry, but what can I say: Shit happens. Life gets in the way, and unfortunately, sorting things out take precedence over (gasp) watching anime and bitch and moan on how Gundam 00 was mediocre. but now things are sorted, I have essentially 2 months to go through a years worth of anime.  But how does one perform such a task you ask? Lack of sleep and lots of caffeine.  So to sum thing up, here a Five(5)  titles that I watched that I thought  were awesome, five that were so-so, and 4 that made me go “ick”!

Five Titles that I like

Slayers Evolution: I mean come on, it’s fucking Slayers. Lina gets pissed off and blows shit up, Gourry’s as clueless as ever, Xellos says “Kore wa Himitsu desu”, and everyone eats food that coulda fed 50 third world countries for a year. It’s like it’s 1997 all over again….

Detroit Metal City: It’s crass, upsetting and offensive to damn near everybody. In short, it’s  one of the greatest show ever made.

Kurogane No Linebarrels: I’m just gonna bite offa wildarmsheero here and quote what he says about it: ” This show is about man things like robots, tits and giant black men named JACK SMITH who cut airplanes in half.”

Well said, my friend. Well said.

Tytania: Because It’s about time we have another Epic Space Drama™.

Astro Fighter Sunred: I get a ATHF vibe from this. maybe its the opening scene in which Sunred does awesome shit that appears nowhere in the actual show. Enjoyable.

Five Shows That I Think are So-So

Strike Witches: Maybe I’m getting older, but wouldn’t hurt the military to provide the witches with some pants? or shorts at least. Also, naming the Witches after real WWII fighter pilots? Disturbing as hell.

Chaos;Head: I can’t get past the fact that with the character designs, it looks like a generic  anime based of an eroge. If it wasn’t for all the people getting killed of course….

Blade Of The Immortal: One the many problems of doing an anime based on a manga besides studios trying to follow the story but end up having either rely on filler *coughNaurtocough*, or deviate from that an  provide an orginal story, most times with disastrous results **coughNegima!cough**.  That is not what plagues Blade of the Immortal. No the main fault is the transition itself. Some manga is not menat to made into an anime. Blade is a prime example of this.

Casshern Sins: I like this, but goddamn, Casshern is so depressing, Marvin thinks he should lighten the fuck up.  And contrary to what others may say, It’s not really pimping if  they’re trying to kill you.

Koihime Musou: Does the world really need another show with cute girls portraying old Chinese guys from 2,000 years ago?

And Four Shows that made me go “Ick!”

Ikki Tousen Great Guardians: I so wanted to like this, I really did. I mean it’s Ikki Tousen. It scantily-clad schoolgirls beating the shit outta each other while showing Panties and Tits. Of course I was gonna watch it. I fogive them for bringing back Ryofu, cause she’s my favorite, but goddamn, the plot. The lesson I learned the hard way from watching Popotan that applies here: Fanservice without substance makes for a crappy show.

Rosario + Vampire Capu 2:  Oh god, where to start? for starters, there’s all the bloody censor bats that started appearing. I mean how in the hell are do a show and just rely more on panty shots than the actual story(which if you read the manga, is pretty decent) in the first season only to censor the fuck outta it when Season 2 comes along? that’s a big fat Meh in my book right there. Also, turing Koka and Ruby into gag characters? So not cool…

Code Geass R2: I thought it was better that Season 1, but if it was for all those  plot twists every other episode…..

Dragonaut – The Resonance: When it first came out, I was one of  the few people that thought it was okay. but after watching the final episodes and sitting through the corny as hell ending, It pains me to say that everyone else was right.

And that’s what I’ve been doing since October. Laters….

Leave a Reply

Categories

